Bound and Gagged

Today is the anniversary of the Dark Knight Massacre in Aurora, Colorado. This day had a profound effect on me for a number of reasons. For starters, the knee-jerk reaction to blame Batman and comics and the attempts to ban costumes from theatres is part of what made me finally get around to starting that banned books blog I’d been thinking about for a year. This outraged me, not only because it does nothing to address the problem, because it is yet another example of scapegoating youth/fringe media, or even because of my lifelong resistance to censorship and arbitrary rule enforcement.

It was because I grew up on Batman. And I saw firsthand how this amazing community of fans, whether casual or diehard, rose up with a strength of spirit that moved me to tears. This community, which people looking for an explanation were so quick to blame, showed us…

View original post 1,761 more words

