I know that I’m woefully late at this, but over the past few months I’ve developed a small-scale obsession. You see, this past year I started interviewing comic creators. In the course of talking to them, I learned a lot about how they like to write and what their dream projects would be. Hearing that really made me think about why they aren’t writing those projects, so I started to think what I would assign them if it were up to me.

Let’s just say this started taking more of my time that I originally intended.

Regardless, inspired by all kinds of wonderful ideas I’ve seen online and heard from creators, I’ve put together my New 52. These are the 52 books I would publish if DC’s offerings were up to me and, as my friends and I have had a good time discussing them, I thought I would share them with you.

Action Comics 1I tried to consider the actual feasibility of these titles, not only in the sense of immediate sales but in their ability to expand DC’s brand long-term. I also recognize that this is a dramatically simplified version of what DC actually has to do. As such, I made a couple of rules for myself. First, as I don’t have the same knowledge of the creators’ availability and timeliness as an actual editor, I decided that I would allow myself access to any writer currently working in comics, but that I would have to come up with 52 titles and assign each one a different writer. Second, I tried not to put a writer on the same book that they’ve already worked on, though some were moved to similar concepts or allowed to expand short work they’ve already done. Finally, while an actual relaunch might do well to include some new books, I limited myself to preexisting titles and IPs for this project.

I’d love to hear your thoughts, on why I’m right or why I clearly screwed up, and I hope you enjoy this.

Now where better to start than with the comic that launched the Superhero genre and the biggest comic star of all time?

 

ACTION COMICS BY AMANDA CONNER

In designing this line I really tried to think of the golden age of each title, whenever they were doing what they do best and, for Action Comics, that meant going back to the actual Golden Age. While I acknowledge that early Superman comics were actually very focused on the hero’s mind, there was a very different understanding of what was a captivating or inspiring image back then. The book was called Action Comics for a reason and, to the average child reading it then, seeing a man pick up a car or jump along telephone wires wasn’t just exciting, it was a staple of wonder that you’d happily pay money for. After all, there’s significant speculation that Siegel and Schuster were aware of and drawing upon the image of Zishe Breitbart.

So, if we want to capture that same excitement, the action in Action Comics, I think it’s essential that this be an energetic, art-driven, balls-to-the-wall series. There are a lot of writer/artists that could be called upon to handle this task, but, as I see it, if you want to do it without losing the joy and compassion of Superman, you call Amanda Conner.

Conner has already proved that she has what it takes to handle a Kryptonian, making Power Girl vol. 2 into a critically acclaimed success. More recently she’s shared writing duties on Harley Quinn with her husband, Jimmy Palmiotti, shooting the book into DC’s top seller list, as well as frequently being one of the top ten best-selling comics of a given month. Clearly she’s a talent who can handle a book as big as Action Comics and, with gorgeous art and a slightly old-school way of drawing the Big Blue Boy Scout, who wouldn’t want to see her on this classic of the industry?

Even better, Conner has made a career off instilling her artwork with an honesty and quirkiness that could do a lot for a character unfairly burdened by a reputation as a stuffy, unrelatable brick.

I think Conner could do amazing work on this title and bring back some of what made Superman an icon in the first place.

She’s Amanda Conner, bitches.

Hey wait…Isn’t her husband a comic creator too?

Tomorrow…Palmiotti and Grey.

