In the course of talking to comic creators this year, I started to think about their unique talents and what I think they would be best suited to. Inspired by all kinds of wonderful ideas I’ve seen online and heard from creators, I’ve put together my New 52. These are the 52 books I would publish if DC’s offerings were up to me and, as my friends and I have had a good time discussing them, I thought I would share them with you.

I tried to consider the actual feasibility of these titles, not only in the sense of immediate sales but in their ability to expand DC’s brand long-term. I also recognize that this is a dramatically simplified version of what DC actually has to do. As such, I made a couple of rules for myself.First, as I don’t have the same knowledge of the creators’ availability and timeliness as an actual editor, I decided that I would allow myself access to any writer currently working in comics, but that I could only assign a creator to one book. Second, I tried not to put a writer on the same book that they’ve already worked on, though some were moved to similar concepts or allowed to expand short work they’ve already done. Finally, while an actual relaunch might do well to include some new books, I limited myself to preexisting titles and IPs for this project.

I’d love to hear your thoughts, on why I’m right, why I clearly screwed up, who should be illustrating the series, etc. But, regardless, I hope you enjoy.

Our third series was once an essential for DC, but these days it’s fallen out of style. Still, I think we could stand a return to the greatest generation of heroes.

 

Justice Society of America by Christos Gage

When you think of diversity in comics, it tends to be a lot of Bechdel Tests and occasionally uncomfortable comments about skin color, but it’s really much more than that. Much as its appearance simplifies into an obnoxious checklist, the purpose of advocating for greater diversity in media is to open up more story options and create a world that better reflects the readership. So while the traditional JSA doesn’t have the same prominence in that debate, being largely made up of a bunch of white guys, the ability of this title to tell stories you won’t see anywhere else is enormous.

These are beloved characters who have stood the test of time. Their presence naturally makes the DC Universe feel lived in and I think a strong JSA series would do a lot to expand the scope of the brand.

The choice of writer was easy for me. You see, DC already put out a fantastic elder superhero story in the form of Justice League Beyond 2.0 by Christos Gage. Gage’s later issues were a compelling argument for his ability to write an exhilarating team book, but it was the early ones, particularly Kal Kent’s struggle to date again after the death of the love of his life, that made this a lock. Many of you might also be familiar with his work on Superior Spider-Man, which confirmed his ability to really lock onto the emotional beats of a story, as well as the Buffy the Vampire Slayer comics.

Whether we would stick to the classic members, reinvent them, or pair them with legacy heroes or brand new Capes in a sort of superhero mentorship program, the hope for JSA would be to get new fans invested in these characters and try to use it as an opportunity to make lifelong fans of some characters that the average reader might not normally follow. You’ll hear me talk about creating connections to characters a lot over these fifty-two days, but Justice Society of America is one of the titles that will lean on this strategy the heaviest.

Tomorrow…The Fastest Man Alive.

