In the course of talking to comic creators this year, I started to think about their unique talents and what I think they would be best suited to. Inspired by all kinds of wonderful ideas I’ve seen online and heard from creators, I’ve put together my New 52. These are the 52 books I would publish if DC’s offerings were up to me and, as my friends and I have had a good time discussing them, I thought I would share them with you.

I tried to consider the actual feasibility of these titles, not only in the sense of immediate sales but in their ability to expand DC’s brand long-term. I also recognize that this is a dramatically simplified version of what DC actually has to do. As such, I made a couple of rules for myself.

First, as I don’t have the same knowledge of the creators’ availability and timeliness as an actual editor, I decided that I would allow myself access to any writer currently working in comics, but that I could only assign a creator to one book. Second, I tried not to put a writer on the same book that they’ve already worked on, though some were moved to similar concepts or allowed to expand short work they’ve already done. Finally, while an actual relaunch might do well to include some new books, I limited myself to preexisting titles and IPs for this project.

I’d love to hear your thoughts, on why I’m right, why I clearly screwed up, who should be illustrating the series, etc. But, regardless, I hope you enjoy.

Wonder Woman is one of the great comic characters, but while fans each have their personal favorite Wonder Woman, it’s rare to find a particular run that receives near universal acclaim. There is one exception; it seems almost everybody loves Greg Rucka’s Wonder Woman.

 

SENSATION COMICS BY GREG RUCKA

It’s no surprise that Rucka’s Wonder Woman run is something special. Over the years Rucka has gained a reputation for writing some of the best and most realistic heroines in comics, however his work on Wonder Woman has a special quality of ‘why isn’t this how it’s always been!?’

Wonder Woman’s mission is to bring peace, acceptance, and love to Man’s World and, from the first issue, Rucka put that mission front and center. Setting Diana up as a literal ambassador, Rucka wrote a Wonder Woman who quite literally waged peace, mounting strategic attacks on ignorance, violence, and bigotry in between her busy days of trade negotiation, charity work, and battles with supervillains.

newguy3

Yes, he wears all white while cooking and drinking red wine. He’s just that good.

It was a brilliant status quo for the Amazon princess and that alone would likely have been enough to make the run a classic, but Rucka didn’t stop there. He revamped Olympus, creating a divide between the modern gods of the Greek pantheon and the outdated. He created a beautiful, subtle plot guiding events and testing Diana’s faith. He created an intelligent new villain who engaged Diana and the readers in a metatextual battle for the soul of Wonder Woman and proved why she’s a hero. In a time when much of Diana’s supporting cast was dead or otherwise out of commission, he introduced us to a score of beautiful, funny, competent characters to populate Diana’s world. It was so good.

I think it’s time to return to that model. The Themysciran embassy gave Rucka’s run direction and positioned Wonder Woman to speak to real issues in the DCU and in our culture. Especially as Wonder Woman moves into the public eye more and more, I think having that unique element of Diana on display can only be good for the character and for the brand. As such I’ve chosen to revive Wonder Woman’s original magazine, Sensation Comics, alongside Superman’s Action Comics and Batman’s Detective Comics. As with Action, I’ve decided to help the series live up to the name and so Sensation Comic’s purpose in the line will be to demonstrate and examine Wonder Woman’s positive impact on the world and consider the socio-cultural and political elements of the character.

I wracked my brain trying to think of a writer for this title, but in the end I had to give it to Mr. Rucka himself. Writing Wonder Woman is an honor that comes with an enormous responsibility. To handle that while being expected to craft a superhero political thriller would be a herculean feat for any writer. The choice to give Wonder Woman a second series for the first time since 1951 would not be without questions of sustainability and the ability to give Diana the treatment she deserves cannot be gambled with. Any failure of Sensation Comics would be treated as a failure of the character and of women as a whole. It’s a sad state, but if those are the rules by which we must play, I intend to bring in a ringer.

Yeaaaaaaah…..

Mr. Rucka has had something of an acrimonious relationship with DC over the past few years and had stated a lack of desire to work with the company until something changed. Luckily for his fans, Rucka has agreed to return to write another of his most beloved female characters, Renee Montoya, for the “Convergence” event. Even if this doesn’t indicate a full-out mending of fences, I like to think that in the magical, hypothetical world where I’m somehow calling the shots on which books DC publishes Mr. Rucka would be willing to come back and write Princess Diana once again.

Wonder Woman deserves better than what she’s gotten. She’s a member of DC’s Trinity for a reason and I think it’s time a push was made to put her on the same level as Batman and Superman. I think it’s a great step forward that DC has released their Sensation Comics digital anthology, but it’s growing time for Diana to step up and take on another ongoing title. If I had to trust someone with that responsibility, I’d be happy to make it Rucka.

Tomorrow… Things get strange…

